Bath

We drove to Bath which is a small town close to Bristol after visiting Salisbury . It is a short ride that takes around an hour.  Bath is a small place so I think in 4 – 5 hours, it can easily be visited.  Also it is possible to eat famous British scones with clotted cream and jam. I was excited about that part in this trip :-) I have a very nice recipe (I will later post it in my blog) that I used many times with many ingredients like dates, dry apricots and dry cranberries with hazelnuts but I was not sure if what I am calling “scones” are really scones :-) Now I can say that I can bake real scones :-)

As Bath is well known for its ‘typically English’ reputation and there is nothing more English than afternoon tea with a jam and cream scone, we went to The Mad Hatter’s Tea Party for our afternoon tea. It was a nice break after all walking.

Bath - Scones

Having our afternoon teas in The Mad Hatter’s Tea Party

After having our teas, we head to Pulteney Bridge which is only two minutes away from The Mad Hatter’s Tea Party. Pulteney Bridge, together with the Ponte Vecchio in Florence, it is one of a handful of historic bridges in the world with shops built into it.

Pulteney Bridge

Pulteney Bridge and around

We didn’t visit inside of Bath Abbey because we didn’t have a lot of time and we would like to visit Roman Baths so we just took some pictures of Bath Abbey from outside.

Bath Abbey

Bath Abbey

I like the Roman Baths a lot even though we had a very quick visit as we had to go back to London. It was nice to see the water’s source and walk where Romans walked on the ancient stone pavements around the steaming pool and be a place where people lived and worked 2,000 years ago.  I think this place is a must if you visit Bath.

Roman Baths

Roman Baths

Leave a Reply

